Candidates may spend up to £146,305 during the election period for this £75,000 post

Statement of Persons Nominated

Raj Chandran – Independent – Website

Tony Roberts – Conservative

Malcolm Spencer – Independent – Website

Paddy Tipping – Labour – Website

Paddy Tipping has been selected as the Labour candidate after an unexpectedly close postal ballot, where the former MP received 892 votes against 841 for lawyer Adam Mohammed. Chris Winterton did not make the shortlist and Penny Griggs, formerly Sheriff of Nottingham, withdrew.

Mike Quigley was the Conservative candidate, but withdrew when it became apparent that a previous conviction from 44 years ago would disqualify him from taking the job. He has been replaced by Tony Roberts, Deputy Leader of Newark and Sherwood District Council. Bruce Laughton had been standing but withdrew due to concerns about the need personally to provide funding for the campaign.

Nottinghamshire Police Authority have a PCC section on their website.

Media Coverage

This is Nottingham

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s